Thursday, May 13, 2010

California Drunk Driving Laws ... Did You Know?

Did You Know?
When you are charged with DUI/DWI in California, two legal processes are set into motion:

  • A criminal case involving the state court system
  • An administrative process involving the Department of Motor Vehicles
In most situations, the arresting officer will confiscate your California driver's license and issue you a 30-day temporary license, often referred to as a pink slip. You have 10 days, after this point to request a DMV hearing. If you fail to do so, you risk automatic suspension of your license.

Protect Your Rights
The arresting officer will probably ask you to take a breathalyzer test and perform field sobriety tests, such as the "walk and turn" or "put your finger on your nose" test, in order to determine your blood alcohol level.

In California, if you are 21 or older, these tests are voluntary. If you refuse, you will be arrested. But, your license will not be automatically suspended.

The officer is not required to explain your right to refuse these roadside coordination tests and will most likely not tell you of your right to refuse.

Know your rights. Protect them.

I'm Here to Help
To discuss how I can help you fight a DUI/DWI charge, contact me online or call my office locally at 310-699-0070.

No comments:

Post a Comment